CV

Oliver Sack (1965) studied at the department of architecture, FH Aachen, amongst other with Heinz Döhmen and Jan Pieper (Dipl-Ing, 1993) and at the Postgraduate Center of Human Settlements, KU Leuven, amongst others with Hilde Heynen (MArch HS, 2004). In German and Dutch offices in Aachen, Berlin and Amsterdam he worked as an architect on a large number of small- and large-scale design- and building projects, since 1998 with a focus on housing.

In 2005, and in addition to his work as an architect and office manager at the Amsterdam’s office of Zvi Hecker, he began with architecture-theoretical research concerning space (space formation) and construction (tectonics). In order to combine his ambitions in practical design and his interest in architecture-theoretical research, he started his own office in 2009.
Between 2012 and 2019 he was, as guest researcher and guest lecturer, connected to the architecture’s faculty of the TU Delft, where he earned a doctorate (Dr.-Ing.) in 2019. Since 2016 he has been working as a visiting lecturer at the department of architecture at the University of Siegen.

His main areas of research include: fundamentals of architectural design, design theory and the architectural history of the nineteenth and the twentieth century with a focus on the various discourses on space (space formation).and construction (tectonics).

CV

Oliver Sack (1965) studierte am Fachbereich Architektur der FH Aachen, u.a. bei Heinz Döhmen und Jan Pieper (Dipl-Ing, 1993) und am Postgraduate Centre of Human Settlements der KU Leuven, u.a. bei Hilde Heynen (MArch HS, 2004 ). In deutschen und niederländischen Architekturbüros in Aachen, Berlin und Amsterdam arbeitete er als Architekt an einer Vielzahl von kleinen und großen Entwurfs- und Bauprojekten, seit 1998 mit einem Fokus auf Wohnungsbau.

2005 begann er neben seiner Tätigkeit als Architekt und Büroleiter im Amsterdammer Büro von Zvi Hecker mit architekturtheoretischer Forschung zu Raum (Raumbildung) und Konstruktion (Tektonik). Um seine entwurfspraktischen Ambitionen und sein architekturtheoretisches Interesse zu kombinieren, gründete er 2009 sein eigenes Architekturbüro.
Von 2012 bis 2019 war er als Gastforscher und Gastdozent an die Architekturfakultät der TU Delft verbunden und hat dort 2019 promoviert (Dr.-Ing.). Seit 2016 ist er als Lehrbeauftragter tätig am Department Architektur der Universität Siegen.

Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören: Grundlagen und Theorie architektonischer Gestaltung und des Entwerfens, sowie die Architekturgeschichte des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts mit Schwerpunkt auf den verschiedenen Diskursen zu Raum (Raumbildung) und Konstruktion (Tektonik).